About Us

Founded in 1965, Utah Community Action is a nationally recognized provider of comprehensive services for income-eligible families. Their six core programs—Head Start, Adult Education, Case Management & Housing, Nutrition, HEAT, and Weatherization—address barriers to self-reliance to empower individuals, strengthen families, and build communities.


    Utah Community Action’s mission is to empower individuals, strengthen families, and build communities through self-reliance and education programs.


    • APPRECIATION – We recognize and enjoy the positive contributions of others.
    • COMPASSION – We demonstrate genuine concern for the well-being of all.
    • INTEGRITY – We exemplify the highest standards of honesty and accountability.
    • RESPECT – We have admiration for each individual’s unique strengths and perspectives
    • TRUST – We have confidence that the agency and staff will consistently act with the best of intentions.

    Core Programs


    Adult Education offers a variety of low or no-cost services for improving clients’ educational and job readiness skills with individualized support based on client needs and interests. These in-house, community, and higher education partnership programs provide opportunities for clients to acquire and increase skills necessary for advancing in education and employment, key barriers to adults living in poverty. By removing or reducing these barriers through the Adult Education program, students are able to make essential gains on their path to financial stability and self-reliance.


    Case Management & Housing assists those experiencing a temporary financial crisis with rental and deposit assistance, landlord-tenant mediation, homeless services and holistic case management. Through this program, as well as connections to other UCA programs and community resources, clients are able to get the support they need to stabilize long-term and achieve self-reliance.

    With the completion and opening of the new Homeless Resource Centers, UCA also expanded our homeless services to include intakes and diversions at each center along with the operation of the homeless resource phone line.


    Head Start is Utah Community Action’s largest program and has been recognized at the state level as the Best Public Preschool in Utah and the national level as an exemplary program. The programs prepares children 0-5 for kindergarten and future school success through educational activities, medical and dental referral services, nutritious meals and self-reliance services for the entire family. In addition to high-quality early education, Head Start also prioritizes family engagement and promotes equity, inclusiveness, and cultural and linguistic responsiveness to build meaningful relationships.


    This program is the largest provider of the HEAT program in the state, accounting for 40% of Utah’s total applications, and is often the first Utah Community Action program many clients access. HEAT services help subsidize and manage the utility costs of income-eligible households. Both seasonal and crisis assistance for power and gas bills is available year-round. Clients also receive budget counseling and education on energy use to achieve financial stability and self-reliance.


    The Nutrition Program was founded on the belief that access to healthy food provides the foundation for future success. From healthy meals for preschoolers and seniors to emergency food supplies to culinary training, our focus is on health, education, and self-reliance. This program includes our Central Kitchen, two Food & Resource Centers and the Sauté Culinary Training program.


    Helps income-eligible individuals and families reduce energy costs and increase comfort and safety in their homes year-round through cost-effective energy improvements as well as energy education. Common improvements include replacing incandescent lighting; repairing windows, doors, and furnaces; wall, floor, ceiling, and duct insulation; and carbon monoxide testing.


    Administrative Staff

    Jennifer Godfrey– Chief Executive Officer

    Gabriella Cubas-Ismaeil- Assistant Head Start Director, (801) 410-5718

    Ian Spangenberg– Chief Auxiliary Officer, (801) 214-3171

    Patrice Dickson– Chief Operations Officer, Social Services, (801) 214-3138

    Stacy Weight– Chief Administrative Officer, (801) 410-5706

    Matt Ulmer– Chief Technology Officer, (801) 410-5710

    Joel Dunn– Human Resource Director, (801) 214-3153

    Program Managers

    Sahil Oberoi– Case Management & Housing Manager, (801) 214-3188

    Jackie Drury– HEAT Manager, (801) 214-3175

    Aurora Howell– Head Start Education Manager, (801) 410-5719

    Katherine Peterson– Head Start Health & Mental Health Manager, (801) 410-5724

    Taylor Skipwith– ERSEA and Family Partnership Manager, (801) 410-5659


    Board of Trustees

    Public Sector

    Karen Crompton– Chair, kgcrompton@slco.org

    Kelli Meranda– Board Member

    Holly Vantassell Smith– Board Member

    Janis Dubno– Board Member

    John Delaney– Board Member

    Private Sector

    Rebekah Couper-Noles– Board Member

     Jake Hawkins– Treasurer

    Stephanie White– Second Vice Chair

     Julie Buchholz– Board Member

     Yolanda Valencia-Price– Board Member

     Casey Jones– Board Member

    Low-Income Sector

    Alesia Soto– Head Start Policy Council, Chair Elect

    Dorthy Longshaw– Board Member

    Bobby Sharp– Board MemberKandice Randal- Board Member

    Michelle Stebner– Head Start Policy Council, Chair Elect

    Stephanie Russell– Secretary

    Interested in Volunteering?